Standards Committee – Meeting held on Monday, 6th June, 2011.

Present:-

Co-opted Independent Members:-

Mr Fred Ashmore and Mr Alan Sunderland

Elected Members:-

Councillors Basharat, M S Mann, P K Mann and Minhas

Parish Councillor Representative:-

Parish Councillors Sandra Malik, Michael Nye and Alan Tilbury.

Apologies for Absence: - Mr Mike Field, Councillors Buchanan and Coad

PART 1

21. Declarations of Interest

None.

22. Election of Chair

Resolved – That Mr Mike Field be appointed Chair of the Committee for the current municipal year.

23. Election of Vice-Chair

Resolved – That Mr Fred Ashmore be appointed Vice-Chair of the Committee for the current municipal year.

(Vice-Chair Mr Ashmore in the Chair)

24. Minutes of the last Meeting held on 6th October 2010

Resolved – That the minutes of the Meeting of the Committee held on 6th October, 2010 were approved as a correct record.

25. Appointment of Standards (Assessment) Sub-Committee

- Resolved (a) That Mr Fred Ashmore and Mr Alan Sunderland together with three elected Members of the Committee serve on the Standards (Assessment) Sub-Committee for the current municipal year.
 - (b) That the three elected members be drawn by lot from a pool comprising of all Borough Council elected members on the Standards Committee.

Standards Committee - 06.06.11

(c) That a Parish Councillor Representative, drawn by lot, serve on the Sub-Committee if a complaint relates to a Parish Councillor.

26. Appointment of Standards (Review) Sub-Committee

Resolved -

- (a) That Mr Mike Field and one other Independent Co-Opted Member (currently a Vacancy) together with three elected Members of the Committee serve on the Standards (Review) Sub-Committee for the current municipal year.
- (d) That the three elected members be drawn by lot from a pool comprising of all Borough Council elected members on the Standards committee.
- (e) That a Parish Councillor Representative, drawn by lot, serve on the Sub-Committee if a complaint relates to a Parish Councillor.

27. Appointment of Standards (Determination) Sub-Committee

Resolved -

- (a) That the Chair of the Committee, Mr Mike Field, plus two Independent Co-opted Members and two elected Members, drawn by lot from the membership of the Standards Committee, be appointed as and when required to serve on the Standards (Determination) Sub-Committee.
- (b) That if the complaint to be considered by the Sub-Committee relates to a Parish Councillor a Parish Council representative on the Committee will also be appointed to serve on the Sub-Committee.

28. Appointment of Standards (Dispensation) Sub-Committee

Resolved - That Mr Ashmore and Mr Sunderland together with three elected members, drawn by lot from the pool of elected members on the Standards Committee be appointed to serve on the Standards (Dispensation) Sub-Committee for the current municipal year.

Chair

(Note: The Meeting opened at 6.30 pm and closed at 6.45 pm)